-- the leading Battlefield 3 fan site, with news, updates, videos, screenshots, rumors, and more.

Battlefield 3 features an in-depth ranking system that spans over 50 ranks in multiplayer. The ranks start at the Private level and go all the way up to General, which is a level 50, and the highest rank a player can achieve. It is estimated that reaching the General rank will take at least 300 hours of play time. See also: Battlefield 3 point system.

1: Private

2: Private, 1 star

3: Private, 2 star

4: Private, 3 star

5: Lance corporal

6: Lance corporal, 2 star

7: Lance corporal, 3 star

8: Lance corporal, 4 star

9: Corporal, 1 star

10: Corporal, 2 star

11: Corporal, 3 star

12: Corporal, 4 star

13: Sergeant

14: Sergeant, 1 star

15: Sergeant, 2 star

16: Sergeant, 3 star

See also: Battlefield 3 rewards.


  1. Joe
    October 20th, 2011 at 6:29 pm

    Why does it stop at 3 star general? what about 5 star?

    Thumb up 0 Thumb down 1
  2. Kyle
    October 31st, 2011 at 1:07 am

    LOL.. dude, there are zero 5 star generals in real life – It “stops” at four.

    Thumb up 3 Thumb down 3
    • Kevin
      February 7th, 2013 at 8:35 am

      There are zero 5 star generals alive today. There are however past 5 star generals and 1, 6 star general. The 6 star general is George Washington. Most of the 5 star generals were promoted to 5 star after WW2.

      Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  3. Cody
    December 1st, 2011 at 5:41 pm

    Actually, there is a rank of 5-Star General in the U.S. Army. There isn’t one currently however. The last 5-Star General was during WWII. They were created to allow the normally 4-Star General, to be a higher rank than the enemy’s 4-Star Generals. However, this only occurs during a declared war. One may point out that the U.S. doesn’t currently have a 5-Star General, and that we are at war with Afghanistan (Al Qaeda) and Iraq (helping re-build important infrastructures, etc.). Technically, we are not currently at war, as neither party (U.S. vs. Afghanistan, U.S. vs. Iraq) have declared war on one another. Technically, what the U.S. is doing in those two countries is considered military actions, not a declared war. Also, the enemies there don’t necessarily have ranks. They are just terrorists, so there is no reason to create a 5-Star General to be higher than their 4-Star General. These reasons are why we don’t have a 5-Star General.

    Thumb up 2 Thumb down 1
  4. Dave
    December 6th, 2011 at 12:17 am

    Just so you all know there no 5 star general. These are based off USMC ranks. as there is no Lance Corporal or Gunnery Sergeant in the US Army

    Thumb up 0 Thumb down 2

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>